Jenkins Fantasias

ATMA (ACD 2 2205)
Fantasias, Suites and Divisions by John Jenkins for two and three viols

The music of John Jenkin (1592–1678) is that of a happy man, despite the era in which he lived. His appeal lies in his seemingly naturally flowing inspiration, a “fluent and happy fancy,” as Roger North put it. Entirely devoted to his art, he reaped the admiration of his contemporaries. All praised his civility, his unfailing good humour and his kindness, and these qualities are surely to be found still today in his music, particularly in these genial albeit savant works for violas da gamba.

Jay Bernfeld, treble viol
Susie Napper & Margaret Little, violas da gamba
Eric Milnes, organ and harpsichord

Recommended by Répertoire

Available at Atma Classique